What is evil?

Write about evil: how you understand it (or don’t), what you think it means, or a way it’s manifested, either in the world at large or in your life.

What is evil? Who is evil? Where is evil? Why is “evil” evil? 

Short answer would be to say that evil is just simply bad. Evil is that thing inside you that seems to creep up when you’re angry, bitter, sad, and vengeful; that thing inside you that pushes you to do what you normally wouldn’t do and that is act in malice. Evil is the creature we push aside to the darkest corners of the rooms with yellow caution tape denying entrance or exit. Evil exists where we don’t want it; a place where we want only good things to ever occur. 

Did it ever occur to you why evil is actually evil? Who designated evil as evil? 

I don’t quite remember where I heard or from whom I heard it, but it seems relevant: “Without a sense of what is supposed to be good, righteous and right, would there be such a thing as evil?”

Kind of makes you wonder doesn’t it? Don’t get me wrong here as I do understand what is good and what is bad, but that statement always made me think, “what if…”

In a world where what is good and what is evil had swapped, would we still see evil as evil and good as good? Would evil become the new idea of what we deem as right and would good become the new idea for what is wrong? Or will be be like the fairy tales where the some spur of the moment decision or action by someone causes a worldwide epiphany of some sort that will ultimately turn good back to good and evil back to evil? 

Did I lose anyone yet? I sure do hope so because I get lost in my own confusion when I think about this subject. If you decide to give me a biblical explanation of what’s good and evil, then you’ve completely missed the point here. 

We look back to the caveman cartoons where a woman is bonked on the head and dragged home by her hair as if it were a natural thing to do. We watched our cartoons and laughed even still because sometimes the woman would knock out her husband with a club and drag him home by the foot. Since when did these things go from funny to the root of evil that causes violence? Similarly, when did our sources of good old fun, video games, become the root of all evil that causes children to act out? Is it that it just so happens our natural tendency is to become that way? Is our “fun” rooted in evil and if so is evil supposed to be fun? 

Let’s be real here. I don’t think about these things everyday. I’d probably drive myself crazy if I did. But the once in a while thoughts when they do come up leave me in a clutter. As you can even tell from this post here…my thoughts are all over the place. Why do thoughts like these suck? Because I find that that there really is no answer to it. Unless it happens; unless there is some sort of role reversal…will I ever really know? Most likely not, but at the same time it’s fun to think about.

9 thoughts on “What is evil?

Leave a Reply

