My Coffee!

What a great start to the morning.

Got up at 6:30 AM, went to the gym, got a great workout and came back home just in time to grab a bite to eat before heading out to work.

Prepped my Starbucks Iced Coffee cup and made my own iced coffee. All prepped and ready to go to work in order to finish off this dreadful Friday before holiday weekend. Had a little skip to my step as I was filled with energy from my morning workout; it almost seemed like I was ready to take on the world even though I knew today was going to drag along as any other Friday before the holiday weekend.

Locked my front door with my coffee in one hand. Made it to the car and opened the door. Just as I was about to get in my car, my car door decides to swing back and hit my elbow; it just happened to be my arm holding on to the coffee.

I saw it happen in slow motion.

My arm moved forward without my consent and the coffee cup moved forward as well. It hits the top side of my car frame. The cup bursts as the top flies off along with the straw and the golden-hazelnut source of energy for the day decides to fall all over my foot, pants leg, inside the car, and parts of my seat.

I just stood there and looked for a few minutes. It didn’t matter that I could possibly be late for work. I just stared at the calamity before my eyes, and a part of me died inside. The one part of the morning that I look forward to each day. Waking up to the smell of hazelnut coffee automatically brewing in the mornings; I wanted to hold a memorial service for the damn thing.

NOOOOOOOO!
NOOOOOOOO!

F***! Is what I said. People walking on the sidewalk stared at me as if I was crazy. I was louder than the lawn mower that was running on the house over (another thing that drives me nuts but I’ll leave that rant for another day).

I slowly cleaned up the spilled coffee from my car. Anger flushed through my veins. Irritated to the max by a mere spilled cup of coffee. To some this may be insane…but for me, it was like losing the world in the morning.

I didn’t even have time to change my pants. The bottom portion that had been covered with coffee dried as I directed the AC towards my legs in the car. What was I to do? I didn’t even have time to go grab another cup of coffee from Starbucks or DD.

Now I’m sitting in my cubicle smelling like coffee. People keep walking by sniffing the air asking “where is that coffee smell coming from?” reminding me of my lost every morning pick-me-up. The aroma of coffee just keeps on going and reminding me of the coffee I couldn’t have this morning.

This makes me genuinely sad. When is lunch time coming around? I need my cup of coffee.

Leave a Reply

